Ogier one of only 31 firms included in IFLR's global "Firms To Watch"

Ogier is one of only 31 law firms worldwide to be named in IFLR 1000's Firms to Watch – an exclusive list of the top financial law firms making headlines for breaking into new markets, expansion, increased market share and innovation.

Ogier appears alongside major international players such as Latham & Watkins, Norton Rose Fulbright and Morgan Lewis & Bockius, and the list recognises three of Ogier's lawyers as Market Leaders, five as Notable Practitioners, seven as Rising Stars and 19 as Highly Regarded.

The news comes shortly after the firm was named as a finalist in the International Law Firm Innovation category of the Legal Week Innovation Awards.

IFLR say: "What all firms appearing in Firms to Watch share is ambition, and a strategy to develop which has proven successful in the short-term and bodes well for the near future."

They highlighted the firm's targeted lateral hiring programme.  Although lateral partner hires are usually rare in the offshore world, in the last 12 months the firm has been joined by partners from Appleby, Bedell Cristin, Harneys and Mourant.

There have also been several senior hires at Counsel level.

Ogier's Global Head of Banking & Finance Angus Davison said: "This has been a fantastic month for Ogier in terms of industry recognition for the success of our growth strategy and our commitment to innovation in client service.

"To be singled out for praise by IFLR amongst so few firms demonstrates the quality of our people and our advice, and this recognition reflects on some very hard work by all of our people across our international locations."

The Ogier lawyers recognised by IFLR are:

Market Leaders: Raulin Amy, Marcus Leese and Ray Wearmouth.

Notable Practitioners: Fabien Debroise, Bertrand Geradin, Anthony Oakes, Oliver Payne and Nathan Powell.

Highly recommended: James Bagnall, James Bergstrom, Richard Daggett, Angus Davison, Simon Dinning, Katrina Edge, Simon Felton, Emily Haithwaite, Christopher Jones, Michael Killourhy, Bradley Kruger, Niamh Lalor, Bruce MacNeil, Nick Plowman, Bryon Rees, Daniel Richards, Mark Santangeli, Simon Schilder and Giorgio Subiotto.

Rising Star: Rebecca Clark, Alex Curry, Marie-Claire Fudge, Andrew Munro, Sophie Reguengo and Matthew Shaxson.